
 

 

frequently asked questions from workers 

regarding covid-19 

 

On March 12, 2020, Governor Northam declared a State of Emergency 

in the Commonwealth due to the statewide spread of COVID-19. 

Many workers are asking for guidance on how to navigate this public 

health crisis as they work to keep their families both healthy and 

financially stable. 

Below are answers to some of the most frequently asked questions received from workers. Please 

check with your human resource officer for employer-specific policies on sick and medical leave. 

This document is not designed to give legal advice on individual situations. 

 

1. Because of COVID-19, my employer has temporarily closed, and I do 

not have paid leave or will not receive a paycheck. What can I do? 

You may file a claim for unemployment insurance (UI) benefits with the Virginia 

Employment Commission (VEC). If VEC approves your claim, you will receive a weekly 

benefit payment that is dependent on your past earnings. The maximum benefit amount is 

$378 for up to 26 weeks. Individuals who receive unemployment benefits may also be 

eligible for Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation (FPUC), which is a $600 per 

week supplement payment payable through July 25, 2020.  

For more information about unemployment insurance and to file a claim, please visit 

http://www.vec.virginia.gov/node/11699. A detailed guide to applying is available at 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Information-on-claims-

related-to-layoff-March-2020.pdf. Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating 

the site as VEC is experiencing a high volume of claims.  
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2. My employer has cut my hours back due to the coronavirus. What can I 

do?  

If your weekly earnings fall below what would be your maximum weekly benefit amount, 

you may file a claim for partial unemployment insurance (UI) benefits with the Virginia 

Employment Commission (VEC).  

For more information on UI and to file a claim, please visit 

http://www.vec.virginia.gov/node/11699. A detailed guide to applying is available at 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Information-on-claims-

related-to-layoff-March-2020.pdf. Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating 

the site as VEC is experiencing a high volume of claims.  

3. I am a gig worker (i.e. self-employed or independent contractor). Do I 

qualify for unemployment insurance if I lose work due to COVID-19?  

The self-employed, independent contractors, and other gig workers are eligible to receive 

Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA) through the Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, 

and Economic Security (CARES) Act. 

To determine eligibility for PUA, individuals should first apply for and be denied 

traditional unemployment benefits through the Virginia Employment Commission (VEC). 

They may then file a claim for PUA at https://www.vec.virginia.gov/html/pua.html. 

Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating the site as VEC is experiencing a high 

volume of claims.  

4. My unemployment insurance ran out shortly before the public health 

crisis, and I am now no longer eligible. Has Virginia extended benefits 

for people in my situation?   

Under the Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, 

individuals who have exhausted their unemployment insurance benefits may be eligible to 

receive Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) for up to 13 weeks. 

VEC will notify eligible candidates who have exhausted their benefits.  

5. I was unemployed prior to the COVID-19 crisis. Am I eligible for 

unemployment insurance now?  

Under the recent federal stimulus package (Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic 

Security Act), unemployment insurance (UI) has been extended to some individuals with 

insufficient work history that would make them ineligible under normal 

circumstances. These benefits are administered through the Pandemic Unemployment 

Assistance (PUA) program.  
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To determine eligibility for PUA, individuals should first apply for and be denied 

traditional unemployment benefits through the Virginia Employment Commission (VEC). 

They may then file a claim for PUA at https://www.vec.virginia.gov/html/pua.html. 

Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating the site as VEC is experiencing a high 

volume of claims.  

6. Am I eligible for benefits if I must miss work because I have been 

quarantined by a health official, am experiencing symptoms, or am sick 

with coronavirus? 

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) passed by the federal government 

in March 2020 requires certain employers to provide a designated amount of paid sick 

leave to employees that are quarantined and/or experiencing COVID-19 symptoms. Some 

exemptions may apply. To learn more, please visit 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employee-paid-leave. 

If your employer is exempt from this requirement, first talk to them about telework options, 

flexible schedules, and specific leave policies. In the event that you have to take unpaid 

leave or lose your job, you may file a claim for unemployment insurance (UI) benefits with 

the Virginia Employment Commission (VEC).  

For more information and to file a claim, please visit 

http://www.vec.virginia.gov/node/11699. A detailed guide to applying is available at 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Information-on-claims-

related-to-layoff-March-2020.pdf. Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating 

the site as VEC is experiencing a high volume of claims.  

7. Am I eligible for benefits if I must stay home to care for a family 

member that is seriously ill with coronavirus? 

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) passed by the federal government 

in March 2020 requires certain employers to provide a designated amount of paid family 

and medical leave to employees that must stay home to care for a family member that is 

subject to quarantine or seriously ill with coronavirus. Some exemptions may apply. To 

learn more, please visit https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employee-

paid-leave. 

If your employer is exempt from this requirement, first talk to them about telework options, 

flexible schedules, and specific leave policies. In the event that you have to take unpaid 

leave or lose your job, you may qualify for unemployment benefits.  

For more information about unemployment insurance and to file a claim, please visit 

http://www.vec.virginia.gov/node/11699. A detailed guide to applying is available at 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/html/pua.html
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https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Information-on-claims-

related-to-layoff-March-2020.pdf. Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating 

the site as the Virginia Employment Commission is experiencing a high volume of claims.  

8. Am I eligible for benefits if I must take time off to care for my child 

whose daycare or school is closed due to COVID-19?  

The Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA) passed by the federal government 

in March 2020 requires certain employers to provide a designated amount of paid family 

and medical leave to employees that are caring for a child whose school or daycare is 

unavailable due to COVID-19. Some exemptions may apply. To learn more, please visit 

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/pandemic/ffcra-employee-paid-leave. 

If your employer is exempt from this requirement and you must use unpaid leave or lose 

your job, you may qualify for unemployment benefits. For more information about 

unemployment insurance and to file a claim, please visit 

http://www.vec.virginia.gov/node/11699. A detailed guide to applying is available at 

https://www.vec.virginia.gov/sites/default/files/documents/Information-on-claims-

related-to-layoff-March-2020.pdf. Thank you in advance for your patience in navigating 

the site as the Virginia Employment Commission is experiencing a high volume of claims. 

9. I waited to apply for unemployment insurance (UI) benefits after I lost 

my job. Am I eligible for benefits for the weeks I was unemployed 

before I completed the UI application?  

Unemployment claims are effective the date they are filed. For verification purposes, there 

is unfortunately no way in the system to backdate a claim. You should file for 

unemployment as soon as possible after you are furloughed or lose your job.  

10. I received unemployment payments for a few weeks and then nothing. 

What can I do to reinstate my benefits, and why might they have 

stopped?  

There are a variety of reasons why you may be receiving payments during some weeks and 

not others. Individuals will not receive payments during weeks where they do not file their 

weekly claim with the VEC. If you are working part-time or earning reduced income, it is 

also possible that your weekly earnings have exceeded your maximum weekly benefit 

amount during certain weeks, making you ineligible for benefits. See question two of this 

document for more information on partial unemployment benefits. 

Another possibility is that you have had an “outstanding issue” placed on your account. 

Regardless of what specifically has caused the issue, a VEC Deputy must review 
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outstanding issues before benefits can be released. The Deputies are working the issues 

first in, first out, and the backlog is roughly 2 months. They are not able to pull a particular 

person's name to determine where they are in that process, but a VEC representative will 

contact you as soon as possible to provide additional information.  

11. 11. Am I required to fulfill the weekly job search requirement to 

continue receiving unemployment benefits? 

The job search requirement for unemployment benefits has been temporarily waived. You 

will not need to demonstrate that you are looking for a new job to receive weekly benefits.  

12. What should I do if I disagree with my monetary determination from 

the VEC?  

If you disagree with your monetary determination for traditional UI, you should appeal and 

have it evaluated by the VEC. There could be any number of reasons why a determination 

is incorrect (e.g. misclassification by the employer, wages under an incorrect SSN, etc.) 

It is different if you are eligible for Pandemic Unemployment Assistance (PUA). Please see 

question three for more information on this benefit. The VEC has established that 

everyone, regardless of 2019 earnings, will receive the minimum weekly benefit amount of 

$158 for PUA. Once the VEC is able to accept proof of earnings through the new online 

system, the monetary determination will be recalculated and individuals will receive 

retroactive payments if they are eligible for a weekly benefit amount that is more than $158. 

The vendor is testing this functionality now, but it is not currently available. You will 

receive a message from the Gov2Go platform once it is in effect. 

13. My employer is not providing me with the paid sick or family and 

medical leave mandated under the Federal Families First Coronavirus 

Act (FFCRA). What should I do?  

If your employer is subject to the FFCRA requirements and fails to provide eligible 

employees with paid sick leave by the deadline, you may file a complaint with the federal 

Department of Labor at https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/workers#complaint.  

14. My employer closed temporarily and I did not receive my last paycheck. 

How do I get paid? 

To file a nonpayment of wages claim, please visit the Virginia Department of Labor’s 

website at https://www.doli.virginia.gov/labor-law/payment-of-wage-english/. 
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15. I feel that my employer is not taking the necessary precautions to 

maintain a safe working environment in this public health crisis, and 

they are also not allowing me to telework. What can I do? 

The Virginia Department of Labor and Industry (DOLI) is responsible for enforcing safety 

and health laws and regulations in Virginia workplaces. At the direction of Governor 

Northam, DOLI’s Safety and Health Codes Board recently voted to approve first-in-the-

nation, statewide workplace safety standards for the COVID-19 emergency. These 

temporary regulations will remain in effect for six months and address appropriate personal 

protective equipment, sanitation, social distancing, infectious disease preparedness and 

response plans, record keeping, training, and hazard communications in the workplace.  

The standards and informational materials are available at 

https://www.doli.virginia.gov/covid-19-outreach-education-and-training/. If you feel that 

your employer is not complying with the new safety regulations, you may file a formal 

complaint with the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) here. 

Complaints received through OSHA will be investigated at the state level by DOLI.  

16. Where can I learn more about the Governor’s face covering 

requirement and how it applies to workers?  

Governor Northam’s Executive Order 63 requires Virginians to wear face coverings in 

public indoor settings to help contain the spread of the novel coronavirus. For more 

information on the new face covering requirement, please refer to 

https://www.virginia.gov/coronavirus/eo63/faq/.  

17. Can my employer not pay me if I am sent home early from work or told 

not to come in for a scheduled shift? 

Yes. A Virginia employer is only required to pay an employee for the work performed.  

18. I caught coronavirus from my work. Can I file a workers’ compensation 

claim? 

Please contact your human resources director for more information about your employer’s 

policies. Workers’ compensation claims are evaluated according to the condition and 

specific circumstances. For more information on how to file a workers’ compensation claim 

in Virginia, please refer to http://www.vwc.state.va.us/documents/workers-

compensation-brochure. 
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19. If I have coronavirus, what can my employer tell others about my 

condition? 

All medical information on an employee is confidential and cannot be shared with other 

employees. For the safety of the workplace, an employer may disclose this information to a 

health authority. 

The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act provides protections concerning 

disclosure of medical information. Information concerning disclosure of medical conditions 

can be obtained at (800) 368 – 1019.  

20. Can my employer ask me if I have a health condition such as a weak 

immune system or existing condition that would be affected by 

coronavirus? 

No. Your employer cannot ask you questions that might disclose a disability.  

21. Apart from unemployment insurance for employees, what other 

resources are available to support businesses during the COVID-19 

crisis?  

Rapid Response Funds to Assist Small Businesses  

Rapid Response is a federal program to help workers, companies, and communities 

experiencing layoffs and closures and provide strategies to avert layoffs. Virginia will help 

businesses avert COVID-19-related layoffs by providing additional Rapid Response 

assistance for the sanitization of workspaces, implementation of telework options to 

support social distancing that the company has not supported prior, or other innovative 

strategies that help keep employees on the job. Businesses may apply for the assistance 

through their regional workforce boards. To contact your regional workforce board 

director, please visit https://virginiacareerworks.com/local-workforce-boards/.    

 

Employee Retention Credits for Employers  

This provision through the Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security 

(CARES) Act provides a refundable payroll tax credit for a percentage of wages paid by 

eligible employers to certain employees during the COVID-19 crisis. The credit is available 

to employers, including non-profits, whose operations have been fully or partially 

suspended as a result of a government order limiting commerce, travel or group meetings. 

The credit is also provided to employers who have experienced a greater than 50 percent 

reduction in quarterly receipts, measured on a year-over-year basis. To learn more, please 

visit https://www.irs.gov/newsroom/faqs-employee-retention-credit-under-the-cares-act. 
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Economic Injury Disaster Loans 

Following a request submitted by Governor Northam on March 18, the U.S. Small 

Business Administration (SBA) approved an Economic Injury Disaster Loan declaration 

for Virginia. Small businesses and nonprofit organizations throughout the Commonwealth 

affected by the COVID-19 public health crisis can now apply for low-interest federal 

disaster loans of up to $2 million from the SBA to pay fixed debts, payroll, accounts 

payable, and other expenses. A $10,000 loan advance, which does not need to be repaid, is 

also available. For updates on this resource, please visit https://www.sba.gov/funding-

programs/loans/coronavirus-relief-options/economic-injury-disaster-loan-emergency-

advance 

Paycheck Protection Program  

The federal Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) is an SBA loan that helps businesses keep 

their workforce employed during the COVID-19 crisis. SBA will forgive loans if all 

employees are kept on the payroll for eight weeks and the money is used for payroll, rent, 

mortgage interest, or utilities. For updates on this resource, please visit 

https://www.sba.gov/funding-programs/loans/coronavirus-relief-options/paycheck-

protection-program-ppp 

22. How is Governor Northam working with the Virginia Congressional 

Delegation to expand the supports available to Virginians during this 

crisis?  

On April 16, 2020, Governor Northam submitted a letter to the Virginia Congressional 

Delegation requesting a wide range of additional federal supports for Virginia workers, 

businesses, and families in response to COVID-19. The letter can be accessed at 

https://www.governor.virginia.gov/media/governorvirginiagov/governor-of-

virginia/pdf/4.16.20-RSN-Stimulus-Letter-to-CoDel.pdf. 

 

For business-related questions not answered above, please email business@virginia.gov.  

For worker-related questions not answered above, please email 

workforce@governor.virginia.gov. 
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