Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: August 17, 2018
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Ofirah Yheskel,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Apprenticeship Council

  • Laura Duckworth of Crozet, Director of Occupational Programs, University of Virginia

Board of Nursing

  • Dixie McElfresh, LPN of Richmond, Hospice Nurse, Medi at Home

Board of Trustees of the Science Museum of Virginia

  • Glenn K. Davidson* of Arlington, Executive Director, Enterprise Services, U. S. Department of Commerce
  • The Honorable Amy Laufer of Charlottesville, Member, Charlottesville City School Board
  • Lauren Mathena of Danville, Director of Economic Development and Community Engagement, Mid-Atlantic Broadband Communities Corporation 
  • David Mills of Richmond, Principal, Dave Mills, LLC
  • The Honorable Molly Joseph Ward of Hampton, Treasurer, City of Hampton; former Virginia Secretary of Natural Resources

Board of Visitors for Eastern Virginia Medical School

  • Alan Lewis Wagner, MD, FACS, FICS of Virginia Beach, Retinal Surgeon, Wagner Macula & Retina Center

Criminal Justice Services Board

  • Tonya D. Chapman, MBA, MPA* of Portsmouth, Chief of Police, City of Portsmouth
  • The Honorable Carolyn W. Dull* of Staunton, Mayor, City of Staunton
  • Patricia L. Smith, MA of Charlottesville, retired as Executive Director, Offender Aid and Restoration/Jefferson Area Community Corrections
  • William C. Smith, MPS of Windsor, Superintendent, Western Tidewater Regional Jail Authority
  • K. L. Wright, PhD, MPA* of Chesapeake, Chief of Police, City of Chesapeake

Henrietta Lacks Commission

  • Mattie W. Cowan of South Boston, retired from telecommunications industry
  • Adele Newson-Horst, PhD of Baltimore, Maryland, Tenured Professor, Morgan State University
  • Jeri Lacks Whye of Reisterstown, Maryland, Judiciary Clerk, District Court of Maryland

Virginia Board for People with Disabilities

  • Eric Mann of Henrico, Senior Vice President, Commercial Banking, SunTrust Bank, Richmond
  • Katherine Olson of Midlothian, Self-Advocacy Coordinator, The ARC of Virginia

Virginia Soil and Water Conservation Board

  • Charles Newton of Page County, Director of the Shenandoah Valley Soil and Water Conservation District
  • Adam D. Wilson* of Lebanon, Beef Cattle Producer, Wilson Cattle Co.

*denotes reappointment

# # #