Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: August 24, 2018
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Ofirah Yheskel,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Secretariat of Commerce and Trade

Randy Moore, Chief, Division of Mines, Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
Marshall (Randy) Moore has been reappointed as Division of Mines Chief at the Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy, a position he was first appointed to in 2011. Prior to this appointment, Randy served as a Virginia coal mine safety inspector and enforcement supervisor in the Division of Mines. His professional mining career spans 42 years in Virginia and Kentucky, beginning as an underground coal miner. He has also worked as a certified underground mine foreman, company safety director, surface mine foreman and chief electrician. Randy is a lifelong resident of Wise County, Virginia, graduating from the University of Virginia’s College at Wise in 1980 with a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration and a concentration in accounting. He is also currently the bi-vocational pastor of a Southern Baptist church in Southwest Virginia.

Secretariat of Public Safety and Homeland Security

Terry C. Frye, Confidential Policy Assistant, Department of Criminal Justice Services
Terry C. Frye has been appointed as Confidential Policy Assistant at the Department of Criminal Justice Services. Terry has been a practicing attorney for 32 years, having served as an Assistant Public Defender, an Assistant District Attorney, a Municipal Judge and an elected Constitutional Officer (Commissioner of the Revenue) for the City of Bristol, Virginia for four terms. He has extensive legal experience with criminal and juvenile justice issues in Virginia and Tennessee, and has been an active member on non-profit boards related to criminal justice. A native of the City of Bristol, Terry received a Bachelor of Science degree from East Tennessee State University, a J.D. from the University of Memphis School of Law and a Masters Certification as a Master Commissioner of Revenue from the University of Virginia.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth

Michelle Thomas, Special Assistant, Service of Process Department
Michelle Thomas has been appointed as Special Assistant in the Service of Process Department of the Office of the Secretary of the Commonwealth. Michelle has served in the Office of the Secretary of the Commonwealth for over 10 years, working in the Notary and Authentications Division. She currently resides in Hanover County.

Board Appointments

Art and Architectural Review Board

  • Lindsey Brittain of Vienna, Artist
  • Thomas W. Papa of Richmond, Attorney-at-Law and President, Fountainhead Development, LLC
  • Burchell F. Pinnock* of Richmond, Principal Architect, Baskervill
  • Ian Vaughan of Portsmouth, Architect, NAVFAC Mid-Atlantic
  • Helen A. Wilson* of Albemarle, Senior Landscape Architect, University of Virginia

Board of Education

  • Dr. Francisco Durán of Alexandria, Chief Academic and Equity Officer, Fairfax County Public Schools
  • Dr. Keisha Pexton of Hampton, Director, Learning & Development Innovation, Newport News Shipbuilding

Board of Forestry

  • Mike Hincher of Lebanon, Senior Vice President – Operations, The Forestland Group, LLC
  • J. Ken Morgan* of Clarksville, Chairman, Morgan Lumber Company Inc.
  • Heather Richards of Culpeper, Virginia State Director and Program Manager, Mitigation Solutions for The Conservation Fund

Board of Physical Therapy

  • Rebecca Duff, PTA of Roanoke, Director, Physical Therapist Assistant Program, Jefferson College of Health Sciences
  • Dr. Allen R. Jones, Jr. PT, DPT* of Newport News, CEO of Dominion Physical Therapy

Board of Trustees of the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia

  • Nwachukwu A. Anakwenze, MD, MPH, MBA* of Rolling Hills, California  
  • David W. Bushman* of Bridgewater, President, Bridgewater College
  • Dianne Fulk* of Rockingham County, Administrative Assistant, Honors College, James Madison University 
  • Clifford Garstang* of Augusta County, Writer
  • Emmett W. Toms* of Waynesboro, Dominion Energy, State & Local Affairs
  • Kenneth Venable* of Staunton
  • John Welch of Williamsburg, Apprentice Shoemaker, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation

Board of Visitors of James Madison University

  • Kathy Warden of Great Falls, President and Chief Operating Officer, Northrop Grumman

Commonwealth Transportation Board

  • Raymond Smoot of Montgomery County, Chairman, Union Bank

Safety and Health Codes Board

  • Louis J. Cernak, Jr.* of Clifton, Retired Business Manager, International Union of Operating Engineers Local 99
  • John D. Fulton* of Mechanicsville, President, E. McLauchlan & Sons, Inc.
  • Phil Glaize, Jr. of Winchester, Apple Grower/Packer/Shipper, Old Home Orchards
  • Tina Hoover of Franklin, West Virginia, Human Resources Director, VPGC LLC
  • David Martinez* of Sterling, AVP Operations Chief Inspector, Factory Mutual Insurance Company
  • Travis Parsons* of Annandale, Associate Director of Occupational Safety & Health, The Laborers’ Health & Safety Fund of North America
  • Thomas Thurston* of Sandston, IUE-CWA Staff Representative, Communications Workers of America

Virginia Board of Commissioners for Public School Authority

  • Betty J. Burrell of Richmond, Director of Procurement Services, City of Richmond

Virginia Board of Veterans Services

  • Carl F. Bess, Jr. of Norfolk, Retired Colonel, U.S. Air Force
  • Paige D. Cherry* of Portsmouth, City Treasurer, Portsmouth
  • Susan Hippen* of Virginia Beach, Retired Master Chief, U.S. Navy
  • James O. Icenhour, Jr.* of James City County, Retired Major, U.S. Air Force

Virginia Offshore Wind Development Authority

  • B. Hayes Framme of Henrico, Government Relations and Communication Manager Southeast, Ørsted 
  • Phillip S. Green* of Arlington, President and CEO, Green Powered Technology LLC
  • Laura McKay of Richmond, Manager, Virginia Coastal Zone Management Program
  • Mark Mitchell of Doswell, Vice President of Generation Construction,  Dominion Energy

*denotes reappointment

# # #