Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: June 13, 2018
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Ofirah Yheskel,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Christopher Newport University Board of Visitors

  • Bill Ermatinger* of Toano, EVP & Chief Human Resource Officer, Huntington Ingalls Industries
  • Maria Herbert of Suffolk, President, MCH Consulting Services, LLC
  • Brad Hunter* of Portsmouth, Vice President, Commercial Lending, TowneBank
  • The Honorable Gabe Morgan* of Newport News, Sheriff of Newport News
  • The Honorable Dr. Ella P. Ward* of Chesapeake, Chesapeake City Council member

George Mason University Board of Visitors

  • The Honorable Ignacia S. Moreno of McLean, CEO & Principal, The iMoreno Group, PLC; former Assistant Attorney General, United States Department of Justice
  • Paul J. Reagan of Springfield, Senior Vice President and Director, Federal Public  Affairs of McGuireWoods Consulting
  • Edward H. Rice of Vienna, independent consultant and real estate investor
  • Denise Turner Roth of Washington D.C., Chief Development Officer, WSP

James Madison University Board of Visitors

  • Vanessa M. Evans-Grevious* of Charlottesville, Vice President, Ron Brown Scholar Program
  • Frank “Buddy” Gadams of Norfolk, President, Marathon Development Group
  • Lucy Hutchinson* of New York City, Chief of Staff to President of the Commercial Bank, Capital One
  • The Honorable Maggie A. Ragon of Staunton, City of Staunton, Commissioner of Revenue
  • Zuraya Tapia-Hadley of Arlington, Principal, The Raben Group

Longwood University Board of Visitors

  • Eileen Mathes Anderson* of Glen Allen, Practice Transition Consultant, Henry Schein Professional Practice Transitions
  • Larry I. Palmer of Richmond, Professor of Law Emeritus, Cornell University
  • Lucia Anna (Pia) Trigiani* of Alexandria, Attorney at Law, MercerTrigiani

Norfolk State University Board of Visitors

  • Dwayne Blake of Hampton, Corporate Vice President, Investor Relations at Huntington Ingalls Industries
  • The Honorable Jean W. Cunningham of Henrico
  • Deborah M. DiCroce, Ed.D.* of Chesapeake, President & CEO, Hampton Roads Community Foundation and President Emerita, Tidewater Community College
  • Larry A. Griffith* of Annandale, Senior Vice President, Programs and Student Services, United Negro College Fund
  • Tamara A. Jones, MD of Portsmouth, Physician, CaroMont Medical Group

Old Dominion University Board of Visitors

  • Carlton Bennett* of Virginia Beach, Law Partner at Bennett and Sharp, PLLC
  • Unwanna Dabney, Ph.D. of Richmond, Senior Manager of AECOM Technical Services
  • Pamela C. Kirk* of Suffolk
  • Jay Harris* of Bristol, Connecticut, Sportscenter Anchor, ESPN
  • Lisa B. Smith, Esq.* of Norfolk

Radford University Board of Visitors

  • Thomas Brewster, Ed.D. of Falls Mills, Dean, School of Education, Bluefield College
  • The Honorable Krisha Chachra* of Blacksburg, former Vice Mayor of Blacksburg
  • Nancy Angland Rice of Vienna, retired
  • Susan Whealler Johnston* of Berryville, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, Association of Governing Boards of Universities and Colleges (AGB)

State Board for Community Colleges

  • Nathaniel L. Bishop, D. Min.* of Christiansburg, President, Jefferson College of Health Sciences, Roanoke Virginia
  • Adnan Bokhari of Arlington, Chief Operating Officer and Chief Financial Officer, Prosperity Now
  • Eleanor Saslaw* of Fairfax County, Educator and Licensed Professional Counselor

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

  • Marge Connelly* of Keswick, Financial Services and Customer Management Executive
  • Henry D. Light* of Norfolk, retired chief legal officer of Norfolk Southern Corporation
  • Bill Murray* of Henrico, Vice President, Public Policy, Dominion

University of Mary Washington Board of Visitors

  • Martha G. Abbott of Alexandria, Executive Director, American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
  • Allida Black, Ph.D. of Arlington, Managing Director, The Allenswood Group LLC
  • The Honorable Edd Houck* of Spotsylvania, former State Senator
  • Leopoldo Martínez of McLean, Social Entrepreneur and Principal, LMN Consulting LLC

University of Virginia and Affiliated Schools Board of Visitors

  • L. D. Britt, MD, MPH* of Suffolk, Henry Ford Professor & Edward J. Brickhouse Chairman, Eastern Virginia Medical School
  • Frank M. (Rusty) Conner III* of Alexandria, Partner, Covington & Burling LLP
  • Barbara J. Fried* of Crozet, Fried Companies, Inc.
  • The Honorable Evans Poston of Norfolk, Commissioner of the Revenue, City of Norfolk

Virginia Commonwealth University Board of Visitors

  • Phoebe P. Hall* of Henrico, CEO, Hall & Hall, PLC
  • Gopinath Jadhav, M.D., F.A.C.P. of Henrico, Gastroenterologist
  • Colette Wallace McEachin* of Richmond, Deputy Commonwealth’s Attorney of Richmond
  • Stuart C. Siegel of Richmond, Retired Chairman, S&K Famous Brands, Inc.

Virginia Military Institute Board of Visitors

  • Thomas E. Gottwald of Richmond, CEO, NewMarket Corporation
  • Conrad Mercer Hall* of Norfolk, President and CEO, Dominion Enterprises, retired
  • Richard K. Hines, V* of Atlanta, Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough
  • Joe Reeder* of Alexandria, Attorney, Greenberg Traurig, LLP

Virginia State University Board of Visitors

  • Valerie K. Brown, DM of Chesapeake, Executive Pastor, The Mount Global Fellowship
  • Thursa D. Crittenden* of Suffolk, Virginia, broadcast television and public affairs executive, retired
  • Charlie Hill* of Hampton, President and Co-founder, Hampton Roads Prostate Health Forum
  • Xavier R. Richardson* of Spotsylvania, Executive Vice President, Mary Washington Healthcare
  • Ruth A. Sandoval of Tysons, CEO, BusinessconX

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Board of Visitors

  • Edward H. Baine of Chesterfield, Senior Vice President, Distribution, Dominion Energy
  • Mehul Sanghani* of Vienna, Chief Executive Officer, Octo Consulting Group
  • Horacio A. Valeiras* of La Jolla, California, CEO Frontier Global Partners, LLC
  • Preston M. White of Virginia Beach, CEO, Century Concrete

The College of William and Mary Board of Visitors

  • Victor K. Branch of Chesterfield, Richmond Market President, Bank of America
  • Sue H. Gerdelman* of Williamsburg
  • William Haden Payne, II* of Richmond
  • Lisa E. Roday* of Henrico, President, FireIce Solutions, LLC


*denotes reappointment

# # #