Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: June 7, 2019
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Alenaa Yarmosky,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Secretariat of Education

Tori Noles, Special Assistant to the Secretary of Education
Tori Noles has been appointed Special Assistant to the Secretary of Education. Prior to her appointment, Tori served as the Engagement and Opioid Prevention Coordinator at the Virginia Department of Social Services. Tori graduated from the University of Richmond, and previously served as a Governor’s Fellow in the Office of the Secretary of Public Safety and Homeland Security under the McAuliffe Administration.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Fair Housing Board

  • Scott Astrada of Alexandria, Director, Center for Responsible Lending
  • Amanda Buyalos of Roanoke, Property Manager, Management Services Corporation
  • Sherman Gillums Jr. of Gainesville, U.S. Marine Corps, Retired
  • T. Nicole Hebbe of Henrico, General Manager, MHE, Inc.
  • Myra Howard* of Richmond, Agency Owner, State Farm Insurance
  • Linda Melton* of Glen Allen, Community Outreach Officer, Fulton Bank

Family and Children’s Trust Fund

  • Virginia Powell, Ph.D. of Richmond, Retired Manager, Public Health

Virginia Economic Development Partnership Committee on International Trade

  • Stuart S. Malawer* of Great Falls, Distinguished Service Professor of Law and International Trade, Schar School of Policy and Government at George Mason University

Virginia Small Grains Board

  • Delores C. Darden* of Smithfield, Farmer

Higher Education Boards

Christopher Newport University Board of Visitors

  • Robert (Bobby) R. Hatten* of Newport News, Managing Partner, Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamonstein, L.C.
  • Steve Kast* of Poquoson, President and CEO, United Way of the Virginia Peninsula
  • Raymond Willis, Jr. of Suffolk, CEO, Heritage Development Partners, LLC

George Mason University Board of Visitors

  • Simmi Bhuller of Falls Church, Executive Director, POLITICO
  • Juan Carlos Iturregui of Bethesda, Maryland, Partner, Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP
  • Mehmood S. Kazmi of Great Falls, Director, Office of Business Development, U.S. Agency for Global Media
  • The Honorable Carolyn J. Moss of McLean, retired from Dominion Energy; former Virginia Secretary of Administration

James Madison University Board of Visitors

  • Jeffrey Grass* of Arlington, CEO, HUNGRY Marketplace, Inc.; Chairman, LiveSafe, Inc.
  • Matthew A. Gray-Keeling* of Richmond, Virginia State Director, The Humane Society of the United States
  • Maria Jankowski* of Richmond, Deputy Director, Virginia Indigent Defense Commission
  • Deborah Tompkins Johnson* of Prince William, Regional Policy Director, Dominion Energy
  • Craig B. Welburn* of Manassas, CEO, ECC Enterprises Holding Company, LLC

Longwood University Board of Visitors

  • Michael A. Evans* of Mechanicsville, Retired Local Government Executive
  • David H. Hallock, Jr.* of Richmond, President, Two Capitols Consulting
  • Cookie Scott of Chesterfield, Retired, former Deputy Director, Virginia Department of Corrections

Norfolk State University Board of Visitors

  • Mary Blunt of Chesapeake, Senior Corporate Vice President, Sentara Healthcare
  • Dr. Kim W. Brown of Chesapeake, Presiding Bishop, The Mount Global Fellowship of Churches
  • Michael J. Helpinstill* of Williamsburg
  • Harry Watkins, Ph.D. of Richmond, Principal, HarryCo; Co-Owner, Bateau

Old Dominion University Board of Visitors

  • Yvonne Toms Allmond* of Norfolk, Executive Vice President, TowneBank
  • Robert Broermann of Virginia Beach, Chief Financial Officer, Sentara Healthcare
  • Peter G. Decker III of Norfolk, Attorney, Decker Law Firm
  • MacArthur DeShazer, Sr. of Woodbridge, President and CEO, Aethiops Business Solutions, LLC

Radford University Board of Visitors

  • Mark S. Lawrence* of Roanoke, Vice President of Governmental and External Affairs, Carilion Clinic
  • David Smith of Roanoke, Territory Sales Manager, Altria Group Distribution Company
  • Lisa Throckmorton* of Vienna, Executive Vice President, REQ

State Board for Community Colleges

  • David Broder* of Fairfax, President, SEIU Virginia 512
  • Douglas Garcia* of Alexandria, Senior Manager, ETS HiSET
  • RJ Narang of McLean, President and CEO, Renegade Technology Systems, Inc.
  • Richard S. Reynolds III of Goochland, President, Richard S. Reynolds Foundation, Missionary Emergency Fund; Managing Partner, Reynolds Trusts
  • Terri Thompson of Chesapeake, Financial Consultant

State Council of Higher Education for Virginia

  • Marianne M. Radcliff of Richmond, President, Kemper Consulting, Inc.
  • Katharine M. Webb* of Richmond, retired Senior Vice President, Virginia Hospital and Healthcare Association

The College of William and Mary in Virginia Board of Visitors

  • Ambassador Mari Carmen Aponte of Washington, D.C., Retired
  • James A Hixon* of Virginia Beach, Retired
  • Charles E. Poston of Norfolk, retired Judge, 4th Judicial Circuit
  • Karen Kennedy Schultz* of Winchester, Professor and Director, Center for Public Service and Scholarship, Shenandoah University

University of Mary Washington Board of Visitors

  • Heather Mullins Crislip* of Richmond, President and CEO, Housing Opportunities Made Equal of Virginia (HOME of VA)
  • Deborah A. Santiago of Arlington, Chief Executive Officer, Excelencia in Education
  • Rhonda VanLowe* of Reston

University of Virginia and Affiliated Schools Board of Visitors

  • Whittington W. Clement* of Richmond, Special Counsel, Hunton Andrews Kurth LLP
  • Louis S. Haddad of Suffolk, President and CEO, Armada Hoffler Properties
  • Angela Hucles Mangano of Los Angeles, California, Real Estate Professional, Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices
  • James V Reyes* of Washington, D.C., President, Reyes Holdings LLC

Virginia Commonwealth University Board of Visitors

  • Pamela K. El of St. Petersburg, Florida, CEO, Pam El Consulting
  • Carolina Espinal of Arlington, Founding Principal, Mozaic Strategies LLC
  • Coleen Santa Ana of Elizabeth City, North Carolina, President, Sentara Albemarle Medical Center
  • Alexis N. Swann of Yorktown
  • Shantaram Talegaonkar, M.D.* of North Chesterfield, Retired Ophthalmologist

Virginia Military Institute Board of Visitors

  • Lara Tyler Chambers* of Manakin Sabot, Co-Owner, Tyler Development Group
  • Michael L. Hamlar, MBA of Roanoke, Owner and President, Hamlar-Curtis Funeral Home
  • David L. Miller* of Brentwood, Tennessee, retired President and COO, Community Health Systems
  • Gene Scott* of Richmond, retired Regional Vice President, Verizon

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University Board of Visitors

  • C.T. Hill* of Manakin-Sabot, retired SunTrust
  • Sharon Brickhouse Martin of Fairfax, President, Brickhouse·Martin Healthcare Engineering
  • Melissa Byrne Nelson, M.D. of Richmond, Pediatrician, Pediatric Associates of Richmond

Virginia State University Board of Visitors

  • Michael Flemming* of Alexandria, General Counsel, Smithfield Foods, Inc.
  • Raul R. Herrera of Burke, Attorney, Arnold & Porter LLP
  • Glenn D. Sessoms* of Cordova, Tennessee, retired FedEx Executive
  • Wayne Turnage* of Washington, D.C., Deputy Mayor for Health and Human Services

*denotes reappointment

# # #