Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: October 25, 2019
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Alenaa Yarmosky,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Secretariat of Education

Lucas Hall, Deputy Director of the Virginia Commission for the Arts
Lucas Hall has been appointed Deputy Director of the Virginia Commission for the Arts. Prior to his appointment, Lucas worked at the non-profit VCU Investment Management Company. He also previously served as Accounting Manager for Virginia Repertory Theatre, worked with Saint John’s Church Foundation, and maintained performance and administrative roles with other non-profit arts organizations. Lucas attended the Virginia Commonwealth University School of the Arts TheatreVCU program.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Advisory Board on Athletic Training

  • David Pawlowski of Richmond, Vice President of Sports, Health and Fitness, Special Olympics Virginia
  • Michael Puglia, ATC, LAT* of Richmond, Head Athletic Trainer, Thomas Dale High School
  • Jeff Roberts, MD, CAQ Sports Medicine, FAAFP* of Midlothian, Program Director, St. Francis Primary Care Sports Medicine Fellowship Program, St. Francis Family Medicine Center and Residency Program
  • Trilizsa Ann Trent* of Lake Ridge, SAPR Curriculum Developer, United States Air Force Headquarters–Pentagon

Board of Game and Inland Fisheries

  • Catherine H. Claiborne* of Richmond, Senior Vice President, Universal Leaf Tobacco Company
  • Tom Sadler of Verona, Deputy Director, Marine Fish Conservation Network
  • W. Frank Adams of King William County, Chief, Upper Mattaponi Indian Tribe

Board of Trustees of the Virginia Land Conservation Foundation

  • Kat Imhoff of Albemarle, President, James Madison’s Montpelier
  • Mary-Carson S. Stiff of Norfolk, Director of Policy, Wetlands Watch

Board of Veterinary Medicine

  • Autumn Halsey* of Marion, Licensed Veterinary Technician
  • Jeffery B. Newman of Alexandria, Veterinarian, Caring Hands Animal Hospitals
  • Mary Yancey Spencer* of Richmond, Attorney

Clean Energy Advisory Board

  • KC Bleile of Richmond, Executive Director, Viridiant
  • Janaka Casper of Blacksburg, Chief Executive Officer, Community Housing Partners
  • Hannah Coman of Charlottesville, Attorney, Southern Environmental Law Center
  • William Greenleaf of Richmond, Clean Energy Loan Officer, Virginia Community Capital
  • Susan Kruse of Charlottesville, Executive Director, Charlottesville Climate Collaborative
  • William Reisinger of Richmond, Attorney, ReisingerGooch, PLC
  • Samuel Thurston Towell of Richmond, Deputy Attorney General of Virginia

Commission on African American History Education in the Commonwealth

  • Dr. Patricia H. Fisher of Portsmouth, Immediate Past Superintendent (Interim), Portsmouth Public Schools (Retired) and Educational Consultant
  • Betty Jean Wolfe of Roanoke, President, Evaluative Design, Inc.

Commonwealth Transportation Board

  • Bertram F. Dodson* of Lynchburg, President and CEO, Dodson Pest Control
  • Carlos M. Brown* of Henrico, Senior Vice President and General Counsel, Dominion Energy

Debt Capacity Advisory Committee

  • Hossein Sadid of Richmond, Chief Financial Officer, Virginia Museum of Fine Arts

Foundation for Healthy Youth Board of Trustees

  • Jerrin Norton of Henrico, Class of 2022, John Randolph Tucker High School and J. Sargeant Reynolds Community College

State Air Pollution Control Board

  • Staci Rijal of Alexandria

Virginia Research Investment Committee

  • Doug Juanarena* of Blacksburg, Retired Entrepreneur

*denotes reappointment

# # #