Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: February 7, 2020
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Alenaa Yarmosky,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Office of the Governor

Alexa Pinzon, Director of the Executive Mansion
Alexa Pinzon has been appointed Director of the Executive Mansion. Alexa most recently served as Assistant Mansion Director, a position she held since 2018. Alexa joined the Executive Mansion during the McAuliffe administration as Assistant Chef in 2015. A Richmond native, Alexa earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Baking and Pastry Arts from Johnson and Wales University in Rhode Island.

Secretariat of Veterans and Defense Affairs

John Maxwell, Commissioner, Virginia Department of Veterans Services
John Maxwell has been appointed Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Veterans Services. Prior to his appointment, John served 28 years in the United States Navy as a Naval Flight Officer, culminating his career as Chief of Staff for Carrier Strike Group 10 in Norfolk. Most recently, John served as the Director of Government Services for Cornerstone Systems. A graduate of the United States Naval Academy with a Bachelor’s degree in Economics, John also earned a Master’s in Business Administration from Auburn University.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

9-1-1 Services Board

  • Thomas A. Bradshaw of Hanover County, Captain, Virginia State Police

Advisory Board on Service and Volunteerism

  • Lisette P. Carbajal of Richmond, Director of Government Affairs, Virginia Health Care Association–Virginia Center for Assisted Living

Board of Regents of Gunston Hall
(Regents are elected by The National Society of the Colonial Dames of America)

  • Margo Caylor* of Tucson, Arizona
  • Annie Gray Dixon of Edenton, North Carolina
  • Katherine McCracken Davis* of Louisville, Kentucky
  • Elizabeth C. Hoopes Field of North Hampton, New Hampshire
  • Nancy Lindley of Long Lake, Minnesota
  • Diana Madsen of Westfield, New Jersey
  • Anne R. McAteer* of San Francisco, California
  • Anne Pendleton Cox Monfore of Tuscaloosa, Alabama
  • Margaret Boyd Schutrumpf of West Boothbay, Maine
  • Katherine Shutkin* of Bedford, Massachusetts
  • Toody W. Sullivan of Birmingham, Alabama
  • Sue Tempero of Indianapolis, Indiana
  • Bonnie W. Ward of Bellevue, Washington

*denotes reappointment

# # #