Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: September 10, 2021
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Alenaa Yarmosky,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments today.

Office of the Governor

Cynthia Bailey, Counsel to the Governor
Cynthia V. Bailey has been appointed Counsel to the Governor.  Cynthia previously served as a Deputy Attorney General under Attorney General Mark Herring and as an Assistant Attorney General under Gerald Baliles and Mary Sue Terry. She also served as a Vice-President and Associate General Counsel of James River Corporation. She is a graduate of the University of Richmond School of Law and the College of William and Mary.


Secretariat of Transportation

Spencer Gilbert, Special Assistant for Communications and Legislation
Spencer Gilbert has been appointed Special Assistant for Communications and Legislation to the Secretary of Transportation. He has served as Special Assistant to the Secretary of Transportation since July 2020. Prior to joining the Northam Administration, Spencer served as session aide to Delegate Mark Sickles. Spencer earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Government and Economics from William & Mary. 

Secretariat of the Commonwealth
Board Appointments

Board of Trustees for the Frontier Culture Museum of Virginia

  • Eric W. Bond* of Augusta, Division Superintendent, Augusta County Public Schools
  • Ronald Capps of Staunton, Retired Commercial Construction Company
  • Dr. Pamela Fox* of Staunton, President, Mary Baldwin University

Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel Commission

  • Rev. Gregory Lee Duncan Sr.* of Mappsville, Chief Executive Officer, GL Duncan, LLC, Deputy Director, Solid Waste, Accomack County Public Works
  • William H. Ferguson of Newport News, Self-Employed
  • John F. Malbon of Virginia Beach, Retired

Commonwealth Transportation Board

  • E. Scott Kasprowicz* of Middleburg, Retired Business Executive
  • Frederick T. Stant, III of Virginia Beach, Retired

Family and Children's Trust Fund

  • Maureen Coffey of Arlington, Research Associate, Institute for Women's Policy Research
  • Beverly T. Crowder* of Halifax, AARP Community Ambassador
  • Tarina Keene* of Alexandria, Executive Director, NARAL Pro-Choice Virginia
  • Allison Lawrence* of Henrico, Executive Director, Virginia Senate Democratic Caucus
  • Dr. Virginia Powell* of Richmond

Virginia Board for People with Disabilities

  • Brandon Cassady of Vienna, Disability Rights Advocate
  • Dennis Findley* of McLean, Architect, Studio Findley Design
  • Florence L. Jones of Arlington, Co-Founder, America's Color Consultants, LLC
  • Robert Matuszak of Virginia Beach, Disability Rights Advocate
  • Thomas J. Leach of Henrico, Disability Rights Advocate
  • Olivia Price* of Covington, Food Service, Alleghany County Public Schools
  • Sarah Graham Taylor of Alexandria, Assistant City Manager, City of Alexandria

Virginia Board of Workforce Development

  • Rich Allevi of Charlottesville, Vice President of Development, Sun Tribe Solar
  • John Bahouth Jr. of Charlottesville, Executive Vice President, Apex Clean Energy
  • Tierney T. Fairchild, Ph.D. of Charlottesville, Co-Founder and Executive Director, Resilience Education
  • Richard Hatch of Richmond, Staff Representative, Communications Workers of America
  • Antonio Rice of Charlottesville, President and Chief Executive Officer, Jobs for Virginia Graduates
  • Louise Welch of Richmond, Capital One

Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and Public Policy

  • Linda J. Seligmann of Mclean, Professor Emeritus of Anthropology, George Mason University

Virginia Growth and Opportunity Board (GO Virginia)

  • Eva Teig Hardy of Richmond, Former Secretary of Health and Human Resources, Retired Executive Vice President of Dominion Energy

Virginia Peanut Board

  • Wayne Barnes* of  Dinwiddie, Chairman, Virginia Peanut Board
  • Ernest L. Blount* of Surry, Farmer
  • Michael J. Marks, Sr.* of Capron, Marks Produce

*denotes reappointment

# # #