Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: September 17, 2021
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Alenaa Yarmosky,

Governor Northam Announces Administration Appointments

RICHMOND—Governor Ralph Northam announced additional appointments to his Administration today.

Secretariat of the Commonwealth

Abbey Philips, Assistant Secretary of the Commonwealth
Abbey Philips has been appointed Assistant Secretary of the Commonwealth. She served as Senator Jennifer McClellan’s Chief of Staff for nearly ten years, beginning with then Delegate McClellan in 2012. Abbey is a co-founder of Collective 365 and has been a volunteer with Henrico CASA since 2008. Abbey earned her Master of Social Work with a concentration in Administration, Planning, and Policy from the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Social Work.

Board Appointments

Board of Dentistry

  • Dr. Sidra Butt of Midlothian, Associate Dentist, Spencer Dental
  • Jamiah K. Dawson, DDS* of Newport News, General Dentist, Virginia Affordable Dentures and Implants
  • Dr. A. Ronald Hendricksen of Lynchburg, Dentist

Board of Forestry

  • Jennifer Gagnon of Hiwassee, Extension Associate, Virginia Tech
  • Brian Irvine of Courtland, Senior Operations Forester, Roseburg Resources Co.
  • Carolyn Mulligan of Midlothian, District Manager, American Forest Management, Inc.
  • Ralph Sampson, Jr. of Harrisonburg, Chief Executive Officer, Winner’s Circle Enterprises
  • Chad Shelton of Pittsylvania County, Manager, H.J. Shelton Logging Inc.

Board of Long-Term Care Administrators

  • Pam Dukes of Fincastle, Retired
  • Jenny Inker* of Williamsburg, Assistant Professor and Co-Director, Assisted Living Administration Specialty Area, College of Health Professions Department of Gerontology, Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Ashley B. Jackson, LNHA, MBA* of Chesapeake, Senior Executive Director, Retirement Unlimited Inc.
  • Lisa Kirby of Suffolk, Executive Director, LLH Nursing Facilities, Riverside Health System
  • Ann L. Williams of Henrico, Retired Interim Dean of Instruction, Germanna Community College

Board of Nursing

  • Teri Crawford Brown RNC, MSN, CPPS of Richlands, Lead Administrative Supervisor, Clinch Valley Health
  • Laurie Buchwald of Radford, Women’s Health and Family Nurse Practitioner, Virginia Women’s Health
  • Margaret Joan Friedenberg* of Richmond, Retired, Commonwealth of Virginia
  • Cynthia Swineford* of Prince George County, Vice President, Southside College of Health Sciences, Bon Secours Mercy Health

Board of Trustees of the Virginia Museum of Natural History

  • Lisa L. Carter* of Richmond, Director, Innovation and Sustainability Technology
  • Arthur V. Evans, D.Sc.* of Ashland, Adjunct Assistant Professor of Biology, Randolph-Macon College, University of Richmond, Research Collaborator, Department of Entomology, Smithsonian Institution

Potomac River Fisheries Commission

  • Christina Everett of Norfolk, Hampton Roads Director, Chesapeake Bay Foundation

Southwest Virginia Cultural Heritage Foundation

  • Mary Anne Holbrook of Bristol, Community Leader

Virginia Board of Workforce Development

  • Xavier L. Beale* of Smithfield, Vice President of Trades, Newport News Shipbuilding, Huntington Ingalls Industries
  • Lynne Bushey* of Arlington, Senior Vice President, CGI
  • Doris Crouse-Mays* of Vinton, President, Virginia AFL-CIO
  • Paty Funegra* of Waldorf, Maryland, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, La Cocina VA, Global Development Advisors
  • Jimmy Gray* of Hampton, Vice Mayor
  • Nathaniel X. Marshall* of Lynchburg, Community Relations Manager, BWX Technologies, Inc.
  • James “Jim” T. Monroe* of Richmond, Chief Experience Officer, Cisco AppDynamics
  • Carrie Roth* of Midlothian, Founder, Rerouted
  • Becky Sawyer* of Virginia Beach, Executive Vice President and Chief People Officer, Sentara Healthcare
  • Anne Jolly Schlussler* of Richmond, Partner and Founder, Clarity Technology Partners
  • Raheel Sheikh* of Prince William County, President, Nationwide Management Corp
  • John David Smith, Jr.* of Winchester, Mayor, Winchester
  • Travis W. Staton* of Abingdon, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Way of Southwest Virginia
  • Zuzana Steen* of Manassas, Director, Academic and Community Relations, Micron Technology, Inc.

Virginia Council on Environmental Justice

  • Fernando Mercado Violand of Charlottesville, Former Deputy White House Liaison U.S Environmental Protection Agency, Law Student, University of Virginia

Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and Public Policy

  • Megan Beyer* of Alexandria, Cultural Advisor, Megan Beyer Associates

Virginia Innovation Partnership Authority

  • Richard Hall* of Martinsville, Managing Director, Orion Capital

*denotes reappointment

# # #