Coronavirus (COVID-19) Response • Have you downloaded COVIDWISE, Virginia's COVID-19 exposure notification app? Add your phone to the fight here. For up-to-date information, assistance, and resources from across state government, click here.

EdEquityVA Week


WHEREAS, every student in the Commonwealth is entitled to a high quality public education, regardless of race, gender, zip code, ability, socio-economic status and/or language spoken at home; and

WHEREAS, education equity in Virginia is defined as our commitment to eliminating the predictability of student outcomes based on those factors; and

WHEREAS, together, Virginia’s state and local education leaders are dedicated to identifying and eliminating inequity so that all students in the Commonwealth have access to the resources and support needed to maximize their potential; and

WHEREAS, EdEquityVA Week is a celebration of education equity in Virginia and provides an opportunity to highlight our education equity priorities, as well as the incredible equity work happening in schools and divisions across the Commonwealth; and

WHEREAS, educational equity will only be achieved through the collaborative work of state policymakers and the dedication of local division superintendents, school administrators, teachers, support staff, and community groups; and

WHEREAS, every day, all across the Commonwealth, countless individuals and organizations work tirelessly in various capacities to help achieve this goal; and

WHEREAS, EdEquityVA Week gives us the opportunity to thank equity champions across the Commonwealth and acknowledge the significant contributions individuals and organizations have made to the advancement of education equity for students in Virginia; and

WHEREAS, The Mary Peake Award for Excellence in Education Equity recognizes educators, policy makers, school leaders, and stakeholder organizations whose service and leadership is impacting equity outcomes for Virginia students; and

WHEREAS, EdEquityVA Week 2020 honors Dr. Shantha Smith of Arlington, Mr. Rodney A. Jordan of Norfolk, Dr. Jeffery Smith of Hampton, and the Albemarle County Community Engagement Equity Specialists (Dr. L Bernard Hairston, Mr. Lars Holmstrom, Ms. B Leilani Keys, Ms. Ayanna Mitchell) for their commitment to education equity and declares they are the winners of the Commonwealth’s 2020 Mary Peake Award for Excellence in Education Equity;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Ralph S. Northam, do hereby recognize November 30 – December 6, 2020, as EDEQUITYVA WEEK in our COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, and I call this observance to the attention of all our citizens.