Seal of the Governor
For Immediate Release: May 24, 2024
Contacts: Office of the Governor: Christian Martinez,

Governor Glenn Youngkin Announces First Meeting Date and Members of “Preserving Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education Program Task Force”

RICHMOND, VA - Following his issuance of Executive Directive Seven, which established a task force to address recent changes made by the General Assembly to the Virginia Military Survivors and Dependents Education Program (VMSDEP), Governor Glenn Youngkin today announced the first meeting date of the Task Force.  

The Preserving VMSDEP Task Force’s first meeting will be held on June 10th at the Virginia War Memorial from 2:00 pm to 5:00 pm. After opening remarks and staff presentations on the program and changes enacted in the budget, the Task Force will take public comment. RSVP to attend or receive information about remote participation options at  

“I am proud that so many Virginians, especially the many veterans who have already reached out to volunteer on behalf of our military families and all Virginians, are coming together to offer solutions to help preserve and sustain this important program for the future,” said Governor Glenn Youngkin. “The Task Force will give stakeholders a venue to provide important information on the program, express their concerns and offer feedback on implementation guidance and suggestions for changes.”  

Virginians who wish to participate by providing feedback to the Task Force ahead of the June 10th meeting should contact   

The Task Force will be co-chaired by Secretary of Veterans and Defense Affairs Craig Crenshaw, a retired Major General in the United States Marine Corps, and Secretary of Education Aimee Rogstad Guidera. Lieutenant Governor Winsome Earle-Sears, Attorney General Jason Miyares, and their offices will participate in the Task Force’s work.  

The Task Force will also include: 

  • Senate Finance and Appropriations Chair Senator Louise Lucas 
  • House Appropriations Committee Chair Luke Torian 
  • Senator Jeremy McPike  
  • Senator Bryce Reeves 
  • Senator Tara Durant  
  • Delegate Dan Helmer 
  • Delegate Bill Wiley 
  • Delegate Mike Cherry  
  • General John P. Jumper (USAF, Ret.), Chairman-elect of the State Council of Higher Education for Virginia (SCHEV) and 17th Chief of Staff of the United States Air Force  
  • President William G. Kelly, Christopher Newport University, a retired Rear Admiral of the United States Coast Guard 
  • Commissioner Charles “Chuck” Zingler, Department of Veterans Services, a retired U.S. Navy Captain 
  • Monti Zimmerman, Vice-Chairman of the Joint Leadership Council of Veterans Service Organizations and Virginia National Guard Association 
  • Director A. Scott Fleming, SCHEV  
  • President Michael Rao, Virginia Commonwealth University 
  • Deb Dickenson, Executive Vice President and Chief Financial Officer, George Mason University  
  • President Corey McCray, Paul D. Camp Community College, a Navy veteran 
  • Dr. Daniel Gade, Board of Visitors, Christopher Newport University, a retired Army Lieutenant Colonel 
  • Katherine Martinez, Student Veterans of America  
  • Robert “Bob” Eisiminger, Member, Board of Veterans Services 
  • Mike Flanagan, COL, USA (ret.) 
  • Tim Pillion, Board Member, Virginia Veterans Services Foundation  
  • David J. DePippo, Quartermaster, Second Class (QM2), USCG.
  • Sarah Ross Geisen, Drew Ross Memorial Foundation 
  • Bre Kingsbury, Navy League of Hampton Roads 
  • Kayla Owen, Friends of VMSDEP
  • Kristen Fenty, Friends of VMSDEP and Gold Star Spouse
  • Donna Lewis, Friends of VMSDEP and Gold Star Spouse
  • Caitlin Goodale-Porter, Coast Guard Veteran

# # #